1. Geographical Structure

Theni District was formed by bifurcating erstwhile Madurai District as per G.O. Ms. No. 679 Revenue Department Dated July 7, 1996. Consequent to the bifurcation, one new Revenue Division with headquarters at Uthamapalayam and two new Taluks at Theni and Bodinayakanur were also created with effect from January 1, 1997. Theni Municipal town was only a firka headquarters until December 31, 1996. Consequent to the formation of the new District, Theni Municipal Town was upgraded as Taluk and District headquarters with effect from January 1, 1997. Theni District, having an area of 3242.3 square km (1,251.86 sq mi), lies at the foot of the Western Ghats between 9′ 30′ and 10′ 30′ North latitude and between 77′ 00′ and 78′ 30′ of East Longitude. Central location: 10°04′N 77°45′E. The district is bounded by Dindigul District to the north, Madurai District to the east, Idukki district of the Kerala State to the west & south and Virudhunagar District to the southeast. A range of hills which run parallel to Western Ghats from north to south, separate the district from the neighbouring state of Kerala. .Our District is having 2 Revenue Divisions, 5 Taluks, 6 Municipalities, 22 Town Panchayats. From Election point of view we are having 4 Assembly Constituencies with 1 Assembly Constituencies reserved for SC, and the remaining 3 Assembly Constituencies are General. In Theni District there are 2 EROs and 11 AEROs. In Theni District there are 1177 polling stations. 1177 Booth Level Officers have been appointed by the District administration. There are 516 Designated Locations.